image

That was the slightly impetuous thought I had about a week or so ago upon finding the above pedal.

And that’s because I haven’t seen it for about 15 years. The thing is, I hardly used it and I’m not sure it even works. It’s battered and in poor condition but it has survived 2 clearouts and 2 house moves. So it’s not really this pedal, more that it is reminder of the excitement of buying my first proper guitar, having money from my first job and the thought at the time that I would buy pedals, lots of pedals.

I quickly realised though that some cheap ones weren’t all that, so stuck to Boss and DOD ones. This was quite an expensive option. The second realisation was that it would quickly cost a fortune in batteries and leads, not to mention take up far too much space so I went down the multi-effects route.

But the problem with multi-effects units is that they are a compromise.  Yes you get lots of effects, but if you only want 1 or 2 really good quality effects you might be better off with a pedal.

I had a lot of fun with delays, distortion and a wah-wah pedal. There’s something satisfying about being able to turn knobs up to the maximum setting and tweak settings.  You don’t get that same experience from a multi-effects unit.